[URBANTH-L]FUNDING: ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships

Angela Jancius jancius at ohio.edu
Mon Jul 30 15:53:02 EDT 2007

American Council of Learned Societies Announces Guidelines
         for Digital Innovation Fellowships
 Deadline: October 3, 2007
 The American Council of Learned Societies ( http://www.acls.org/ )
 invites applications for the third annual competition for the
 ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships. Funded by the Andrew W.
 Mellon Foundation ( http://www.mellon.org/ ), this program
 supports digitally based research projects in all disciplines
 of the humanities and humanities-related social sciences. It is
 hoped that funded projects will help advance digital humanistic
 scholarship by broadening understanding of its nature and
 exemplifying the robust infrastructure necessary for creating
 further such works.
 Fellowships are intended to support an academic year dedicated
 to work on a major scholarly project that takes a digital form.
 Projects may involve development of new digital tools that
 further humanistic research; research that depends on or is
 greatly enhanced by the use of such tools; the representation
 of research that depends on or is greatly enhanced by the use
 of such tools; or some combination of these features. ACLS does
 not support creative works (e.g., novels or films), textbooks,
 straightforward translations, or purely pedagogical projects.
 ACLS will award up to five ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships.
 Each fellowship carries a stipend of up to $55,000 toward an
 academic year's leave and provides for project costs of up to

 This program is open to scholars in all fields of the humanities
 and the humanistic social sciences*. Applicants must have a Ph.D.
 degree conferred prior to the application deadline. An estab-
 lished scholar who can demonstrate the equivalent of the Ph.D.
 in publications and professional experience may also qualify.
 U.S. citizenship or permanent resident status is required as of
 the application deadline.
 Visit the ACLS Web site for further information.
 RFP Link: http://www.acls.org/difguide.htm

* Appropriate fields of specialization include but are not limited to: 
American studies; anthropology; archaeology; art and architectural 
history; classics; economics; film; geography; history; languages and 
literatures; legal studies; linguistics; musicology; philosophy; 
political science; psychology; religious studies; rhetoric, 
communication, and media studies; science, technology, and medicine 
studies; sociology; and theater, dance, and performance studies. 
Proposals in the social science fields listed above are eligible only if 
they employ predominantly humanistic approaches (e.g., economic history, 
law and literature, political philosophy). Proposals in 
interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary studies are welcome, as are 
proposals focused on any geographic region or on any cultural or 
linguistic group.

More information about the URBANTH-L mailing list