Jayne Howell jhowell at csulb.edu
Thu Jan 22 17:23:32 EST 2009

The Leeds Prize is awarded each year by the Society for Urban/National/ 
Transnational/Global Anthropology (SUNTA, formerly known as the  
Society for Urban Anthropology) for the outstanding book in urban,  
national and/or transnational anthropology published in 2008. The  
prize is named in honor of the late Anthony Leeds, a distinguished  
pioneer in urban anthropology. The Prize Committee is chaired by  
Robert Rotenberg and includes João Biehl (winner of the 2006 prize for  
“Vita: Life in a Zone of Social Abandonment” (University of California  
Press) Steven Gregory (winner of the 2007 prize for “The Devil Behind  
the Mirror”(University of California Press) and Xiang Biao “Body  
Shopping” (University of Texas Press). This year's deadline for  
submission is June 15, 2009. No books received after that date will be  
considered for the 2009 prize. A letter of nomination (from an author,  
a colleague, or a publisher) and *four* copies of the book should be  
sent to:

Robert Rotenberg
Leeds Prize Committee
Department of Anthropology
DePaul University
2343 N. Racine Avenue
Chicago, IL 60614-3107

Please be sure that books are clearly marked "Leeds Prize Committee."

To be eligible for consideration a book must be relevant to the field  
of urban, national or transnational anthropology. The book must have a  
publication year of 2008. Textbooks and anthologies will not be  
considered, but books of original scholarship by more than one author  
may be submitted.
Authors must to be willing to serve on the prize selection committee  
for three years if their book is chosen. Authors must be willing to  
have their prize acceptance remarks published in *City and Society*,  
SUNTA's journal. Please address all questions concerning the prize to  
Robert Rotenberg.

More information about the URBANTH-L mailing list