[URBANTH-L] Call for Submissions for the 2006 Leeds Prize in Urban, National and Transnational Anthropology

Rotenberg, Robert RROTENBE at depaul.edu
Tue Mar 21 13:56:03 EST 2006

The Leeds Prize is awarded each year by the Society for
Urban/National/Transnational/Global Anthropology (formerly known as the
Society for Urban Anthropology) for the outstanding book in urban,
national and/or transnational anthropology. The prize is named in honor
of the late Anthony Leeds, a distinguished pioneer in urban
anthropology. The Prize Committee is chaired by Robert Rotenberg and
includes Kim Hopper (winner of the 2003 Leeds Prize for his book
"Reckoning with Homelessness" (Cornell University Press), Nancy Abelmann
(winner of the 2004 prize for her book "The Melodrama of Mobility:
Women, Talk, and Class in Contemporary South Korea" (University of
Hawaii) and the winner of the 2005 prize.  This year's deadline for
submission is June 30, 2006. No books received after that date will be
considered for the 2006 prize. A letter of nomination (from an author, a
colleague, or a publisher) and *four* copies of the book should be sent

Robert Rotenberg
Leeds Prize Committee
c/o Department of Anthropology
DePaul University
2343 N. Racine Avenue
Chicago, IL 60614-3107

Please be sure that books are clearly marked "Leeds Prize Committee."

To be eligible for consideration a book must be relevant to the field of
urban, national or transnational anthropology. The book must have a
publication year of 2005. Textbooks and anthologies will not be
considered, but books of original scholarship by more than one author
may be submitted.
Authors must to be willing to serve on the prize selection committee for
three years if their book is chosen. Authors must be willing to have
their prize acceptance remarks published in *City and Society*, SUNTA's
journal. Please address all questions concerning the prize to Robert

Robert Rotenberg
Voice: 773 325-7460
rrotenbe at depaul.edu 

More information about the URBANTH-L mailing list