[URBANTH-L] Extended Deadline: Harold Schneider Student Paper Prize in Economic Anthropology

Angela Jancius acjancius at ysu.edu
Sat May 6 13:00:29 EDT 2006

From: Lynne Milgram <lmilgram at faculty.ocad.ca>

The 2006 Harold K. Schneider Student Paper Prize in Economic Anthropology


The Harold K. Schneider Prize Competition is a student paper competition
established by the Society for Economic Anthropology to honor its first
president and to encourage new scholars in the field of economic
anthropology. Harold Schneider, Professor of Anthropology at Indiana
University, was known for both his path breaking research and his dedication
as a teacher. Each year, the Society for Economic Anthropology invites both
undergraduate and graduate students to submit papers on any aspect of
economic anthropology or economic archaeology. Papers should contain a
central thesis or argument, should be neither wholly descriptive nor wholly
theoretical but, ideally, both and should be edited for clarity.

Manuscripts should be in English only and be no longer than 10,000 words,
including endnotes and in American Anthropologist style. The winners in both
the undergraduate and graduate categories will each receive a cash prize, a
certificate of achievement, a year's membership in the SEA, and the most
recent volume in the SEA series, Monographs in Economic Anthropology. They
will also be invited to make presentations at the annual spring meeting of
the SEA. The winners' sponsors will receive an SEA volume. All students who
submit papers will receive a year's membership in the SEA.

Submissions must include both a single hard copy and an electronic copy. The
electronic submission must be sent as a single file attachment in Microsoft
Word format. Please do not include your name in any headers or footers, but
provide all contact addresses (mail and E-mail) on the title page. All
student submissions must be accompanied by a supporting letter from a
faculty sponsor. Please indicate whether you are applying in the
undergraduate or graduate category.

The submission deadline for the 2006 competition has been EXTENDED TO May
22, 2006. Send hard copies to Dr. Lynne Milgram, Chair, Schneider Prize
Committee, Faculty of Liberal Studies, Ontario College of Art and Design,
100 McCaul Street, Toronto, ON, CANADA,
 M5T 1W1; and send electronic submissions to: lmilgram at faculty.ocad.ca

For additional information, please contact Dr. Lynne Milgram at
(416) 977-6000 ext. 1680 or lmilgram at faculty.ocad.ca.

B. Lynne Milgram, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Faculty of Liberal Studies
Ontario College of Art and Design
100 McCaul Street
Toronto, Ontario
Canada  M5T 1W1

Tel: (416) 977-6000  ext. 1680
Fax: (416) 977-6006
E-mail: lmilgram at faculty.ocad.ca
        lynne.milgram at sympatico.ca 

More information about the URBANTH-L mailing list